When AI and IoT are added to MSDs

September 24, 2020

The main challenge of the Supply Chain is to be able to guarantee delivery times to its customers. However, in this context of globalization, where transport is international and multiplied

The main challenge of the Supply Chain is to be able to guarantee delivery times to its customers. However, in this context of globalisation, where transport is international and multiplied, the task remains difficult. Transport accounts for 50% of logistics expenses, many players are involved, and regulations are increasingly demanding.

How can we improve transport performance while reducing costs in this type of context? 


Today, there are a number of solutions to optimise transport management, but the most widely used is TMS (Transport Management Systems), which has already proved its worth on the market. Whether in terms of reducing transport costs or optimising operations. In the era of digitalisation of transport, TMS remains a key element. 


In today's highly competitive market, what makes a TMS stand out? 


New requirements...


To maintain a competitive advantage in a constantly changing market such as the supply chain, it is important to find new ways to improve efficiency but also to find new ways to save money. 


Requirements are growing and changing: sourcing of service providers, continuous control of transport costs, multimodal transport solutions, management of the international dimension, need for total visibility through global traceability.


In 2008, the primary objective of a TMS was to reduce transport costs. Today, it comes well after improved customer service, innovation, and improved productivity for example. (source: Gartner). 


The diversity of the functional needs of the various transport players has opened the doors to a multitude of very varied offers, ranging from logistics network design, real-time traceability, invoice control, automated EDI of orders and documents... This extended offer now meets the specific needs and expectations of each request, whether on the carrier or shipper side. 


There are many challenges for the TMSs today: 


  • The rise of collaborative work, via cloud solutions
  • The need for real-time through IoT
  • Predictive development via Big Data



... and new technologies to respond to it.


"Software is an excellent combination of art and engineering." According to Bill Gates. 


Artificial intelligence, previously reserved for powerful planning software, is becoming widespread at all levels of transport and logistics. AI is the technology of the future that cannot be ignored, enabling France to improve its competitiveness. The government has clearly understood this and has in fact released 1.5 billion euros until 2022 as part of the national strategy for artificial intelligence. 

Publishers have thus generalized the use of algorithms, learning machines and IoT. 

Bpifrance has thus identified no less than 552 French companies having raised more than 2 million euros and offering AI solutions. The technology has an impact on warehouse and road equipment, machinery and vehicles, but also on supply chain management software. 


AI can be found almost everywhere where there is data: in the ERP and WMS of the warehouse to forecast orders, manage PLCs, robots or the intelligent building. But also and especially in TMS, to plan routes taking into account exogenous factors and trends; or to analyze performance.


In order to have a TMS that will bring you significant strategic benefits, it is imperative that it is aligned with the digital age we are currently living in. 


  • Without the IoT, your TMS will not be able to provide you with real-time visibility of your flows. Thanks to real-time, you benefit from granular information, which feeds the predictive aspect of your TMS and therefore the anticipation of possible incidents. 
  • Without the AI, your TMS will not have the automated intelligence to build a regular transport plan for you, nor to analyze the data collected through the IoT in a fine detail. 



Everysens, IoT and IA expertise in 1 TMS rail solution


The solution to optimize and control its rail transport from end to end. Everysens combines its expertise in AI and IoT to offer the first collaborative, predictive and real-time TMS on the rail market. 


Thought for shippers and freight forwarders in the rail world, Everysens offers the first collaborative, predictive and real-time TMS on the market. This platform digitizes a set of transport processes, simplifies exchanges as well as decision support thanks to IoT and IA technologies. From the planning to the execution of the transport, this management software ensures you a proactive follow-up on your flows, a control of your transport expenses and above all an enriched relationship, by offering a quality and efficient service.


Everysens combines its expertise in AI and IoT to enrich the classical functionalities of a TMS to offer the first real-time collaborative TMS on the rail market.

Lorsque l' IA et l'IoT viennent enrichir les TMS

September 24, 2020

Le défi principal de la Supply Chain est de pouvoir garantir les délais de livraisons à ses clients. Seulement, dans ce contexte de mondialisation, où le transport est international et multiplié

Le défi principal de la Supply Chain est de pouvoir garantir les délais de livraisons à ses clients. Seulement, dans ce contexte de mondialisation, où le transport est international et multiplié, la tâche reste ardue. Le transport représente 50% des dépenses de la logistique, beaucoup d’acteurs entrent en compte, et les réglementations sont de plus en plus exigeantes.

Comment gagner en performance transport tout en réduisant les coûts dans ce genre de contexte ? 


Aujourd’hui, il existe bon nombre de solutions pour optimiser son pilotage transport, mais la plus utilisées reste le TMS (Transport Management Systems), qui a déjà fait ses preuves sur le marché. Que ce soit au niveau de la réduction des coûts transports ou de l’optimisation des opérations. A l’ère de la digitalisation du transport, le TMS reste donc un élément clé. 


Sur un marché ultra concurrentiel aujourd’hui, quels sont les éléments qui permettent à un TMS de se démarquer ? 


Des nouvelles exigences...


Pour maintenir un avantage concurrentiel dans un marché en constante évolution comme celui de la supply chain, il est important de trouver de nouvelles voies d'efficacité mais aussi et d’économies. 


Les exigences sont croissantes et changeantes : sourcing des prestataires, contrôle continu des coûts de transport, solutions de transport multimodales, gestion de la dimension internationale, nécessité d’une visibilité totale par une traçabilité globale.


En 2008, l’objectif premier d’un TMS était la réduction des coûts transports. Aujourd’hui, il vient bien après l’amélioration du service client, l’innovation, et l’amélioration de la productivité par exemple. (source: Gartner). 


La diversité des besoins fonctionnels des différents acteurs du transport a ouvert les portes à une multitudes d’offres très variées, allant du design réseau logistique, à la traçabilité temps-réel, au contrôle des factures, l’EDI automatisé des commandes et des documents… Cettre offre étendue répond aujourd’hui aux  besoins et aux attentes spécifiques de chaque demande, qu’elle soit du côté transporteur ou chargeur. 


Les défis à relever sont multiples aujourd’hui pour les TMS: 


  • La montée en puissance du collaboratif, via des solutions cloud
  • La nécessité du temps-réel grâce à l’IoT
  • Le développement du prédictif via le Big Data



… et des nouvelles technologies pour y répondre


“Le logiciel est une excellente combinaison entre l'art et l'ingénierie.” Selon Bill Gates. 


Avant réservée aux puissants logiciels de planification, l’intelligence artificielle se généralise aujourd’hui à tous les niveaux du transport et de la logistique. L’IA représente la technologie d’avenir incontournable, permettant à la France d’améliorer sa compétitivité. Le gouvernement l’a bien compris et a d’ailleurs débloqué 1,5 milliard d’euros jusqu’en 2022 dans le cadre de la stratégie nationale pour l’intelligence artificielle. 

Les éditeurs ont ainsi généralisé l’usage d’algorithmes, de machines learning et d’IoT. 

Bpifrance a ainsi recensé pas moins de 552 sociétés françaises ayant levé plus de 2 millions d’euros et offrant des solutions d’IA. La technologie a des impacts sur les matériels, engins et véhicules de l’entrepôt et de la route, mais aussi sur les logiciels de gestion des chaînes d’approvisionnement. 


On retrouve l’IA presque partout où il y a de la data: dans les ERP et WMS de l’entrepôt pour prévoir les commandes, gérer les automates, robots ou le bâtiment intelligent. Mais aussi et surtout dans les TMS, pour planifier les itinéraires en tenant compte de facteurs exogènes et tendances; ou pour analyser la performance.


Pour avoir un TMS qui vous apportera des bénéfices stratégiques conséquents, il est donc impératif que ce dernier soit aligné à l’ère digitale que nous vivons actuellement. 


  • Sans l’IoT, votre TMS ne pourra pas vous apporter une visibilité temps-réel de vos flux. Grâce au temps-réel, vous bénéficiez d’une information granulaire, qui alimente l’aspect prédictif de votre TMS et donc l’anticipation d'éventuels incidents. 
  • Sans l’IA, votre TMS n’aura pas d’intelligence automatisée pour vous construire un plan de transport régulier, ni pour vous analyser de manière fine les données récoltées grâce à l’IoT. 



Everysens, l’expertise IoT et IA en 1 solution TMS rail


La solution pour optimiser et piloter son transport ferroviaire de bout en bout. Everysens combine son expertise en IA et IoT afin d’offrir le premier TMS collaboratif, prédictif et temps réel du marché ferroviaire. 


Pensé pour les chargeurs et commissionnaires de transport du monde ferroviaire, Everysens propose le premier TMS collaboratif, prédictif et temps réel du marché. Cette plateforme digitalise un ensemble de processus transport, simplifie les échanges ainsi que l’aide à la décision grâce aux technologies IoT et IA. De la planification à l'exécution du transport, ce logiciel de pilotage vous assure un suivi proactif sur vos flux, une maîtrise de vos dépenses transport et surtout une relation enrichie, en offrant un service de qualité et performant.


Everysens combine son expertise en IA et IoT pour enrichir les fonctionnalités classiques d’un TMS afin offrir le premier TMS collaboratif et temps réel du marché ferroviaire.