Visibility and collaboration: the winning combo

September 24, 2020

Prioritizing digital transformation is not always easy, but by 2020, 47% of companies plan to prioritize investments in collaboration and agility throughout their supply chain.

Prioritizing digital transformation is not always easy, but by 2020, 47% of companies plan to prioritize investments in collaboration and agility throughout their supply chain. 2 dimensions that are essential to the management of rail flows. 


Rail transport must be thought of as a whole: a huge number of players are involved, which makes it complex to manage, where each step is important in order to achieve increased performance. 

How can we get all these players to interact for a more agile management of its flows? 


This strategic approach necessarily involves the digitalisation of its transport, which will have a positive overall impact. However, rail freight has not quite completed its digital revolution, unlike road freight. 


How can these challenges be met? Two answers: visibility and collaboration, which are not mutually exclusive. Explanations. 

End-to-end visibility for real-time incident management at all levels

Real-time tracking is a significant plus for proactive transport management. The monitoring of shipments allows to work on the anticipation of delays, and especially to be proactive in the management of hazards, regardless of the partner/service provider. 

Real-time visibility is beneficial for all the players in the railway industry. 

The transport flow drivers, who ensure the correct routing of products, are thus alerted to anomalies as early as possible. With instant visibility, he is able to inform partners and take action as soon as possible.

Loading and unloading locations, departure and arrival of railcars, are typically information that customer plants need in order to organize the means of loading/unloading (crew, equipment, slots). Thus, if they are instantly alerted of a gap between the arrival schedule and the reality on the ground, they can react and anticipate.

Shippers also benefit from this visibility: while waiting for their goods, they need to be warned of possible delays for certain products in order to find alternatives or levers for action.

As you have understood it, transport visibility is therefore necessary to follow its transports, but above all to communicate to the actors waiting for the train on arrival (Customer, Supplier, Partner factory). 

Full rail visibility means optimal collaboration

A transport management solution, especially for railways, must today put collaboration at the centre of the digitalisation of business processes, taking into account all customer constraints, but also those of service providers, and in real time. 

Considering each actor and proposing an interface for each perimeter makes the execution of a multi-actor process more fluid. Collaboration is therefore central, particularly in transport planning - one of the key aspects that a TMS covers - where all the constraints of your activity must be centralised. 

Having a collaborative TMS tool therefore makes it possible to fluidify and formalize exchanges within the Supply Chain, during complex logistics operations. 

How to improve rail visibility? 

Today, there are very few TMS solutions on the market dedicated to rail, which make transport visibility in railways an essential asset, unlike road transport.

With its railway expertise, Everysens combines its expertise in AI and IoT to enrich the classical functionalities of a TMS to offer the first collaborative and real time TMS on the railway market.

Rail transportation visibility is based more on the tracking of a car and the GPS messages it emits, which can result in erroneous tracking. Everysens provides real-time rail visibility from the train's departure to its final arrival. To do this, we have therefore put into production a unique calculation of the position of the convoy based on all the railcars. This improvement enables us to detect alerts as early as possible (delay, wagon spread...) and to provide our customers with end-to-end visibility. Our customers are therefore able to take corrective action thanks to our alerts.

Visibilité et collaboration : le combo gagnant

September 24, 2020

Définir des priorités dans la transformation digitale n’est pas toujours simple, mais pour 2020, 47% des entreprises prévoient d’investir en priorité sur la collaboration et le développement de l’agilité tout au long de leur supply chain.

Définir des priorités dans la transformation digitale n’est pas toujours simple, mais pour 2020, 47% des entreprises prévoient d’investir en priorité sur la collaboration et le développement de l’agilité tout au long de leur supply chain. 2 dimensions davantage essentielles aux pilotages des flux ferroviaires. 


Le transport ferroviaire doit être pensé dans sa globalité : énormément d’acteurs entrent en compte, ce qui rend son pilotage complexe, où chaque étape est importante pour pouvoir atteindre une performance accrue. 

Comment faire interagir tous ces acteurs pour un pilotage de ses flux de façon plus agile ? 


Cette démarche stratégique passe forcément par une digitalisation de son transport, qui sera impactée positivement dans sa globalité. Seulement le fret ferroviaire n’a pas tout à fait effectué sa révolution digitale contrairement au routier. 


Comment relever ces défis ? 2 réponses: la visibilité et la collaboration qui ne vont pas l’une sans l’autre. Explications. 

Une visibilité de bout en bout pour une gestion des incidents en temps-réel à tous les niveaux

Le tracking en temps-réel est un plus non négligeable pour un pilotage de transport proactif. La surveillance des expéditions permet de travailler sur les anticipations des retards, et surtout être proactif dans la gestion des aléas, quelque soit le partenaire/prestataire de service. 

La visibilité temps-réel est bénéfique pour tous les acteurs du ferroviaire. 

Les pilotes de flux de transport qui s’assure du bon acheminement des produits, est ainsi alerté des anomalies le plus tôt possible. Avec une visibilité instantanée, il est capable d’informer les partenaires et prendre des actions le plus tôt possible.

Les lieux de chargement et déchargement, de départ et d’arrivées des wagons, typiquement les usines client qui ont besoin également de cette information afin d’organiser les moyens de chargement/déchargement (Équipe, matériel, créneaux). Ainsi, si ils sont alertés de manière instantanée d’un décalage entre le planning des arrivées et la réalité du terrain, ils peuvent réagir et anticiper.

Les chargeurs sont également bénéficiaires de cette visibilité : attendant leur marchandises, ils ont besoin d’être prévenu des éventuels retards de certains produits afin de trouver des solutions de remplacement ou des leviers d’action.

Vous l’avez compris, la visibilité transport est donc nécessaire pour suivre ses transports, mais surtout afin de communiquer aux acteurs qui attendent le train à l’arrivée (Client, Fournisseur, Usine partenaire). 

Qui dit visibilité ferroviaire complète, dit collaboration optimale

Une solution de pilotage transport, et surtout ferroviaire se doit aujourd’hui de mettre la collaboration au centre de la digitalisation des processus métier, en prenant en compte l’ensemble des contraintes clients, mais aussi des prestataires, et en plus en temps réel. 

Considérer chaque acteur et proposer une interface pour chaque périmètre permet de fluidifier l'exécution d’un processus multi-acteurs. La collaboration est donc centrale, notamment dans la planification transport -  l’un des aspects clés qu’un TMS couvre - où toutes les contraintes de votre activité se doivent d’être centralisées. 

Avoir un outil TMS collaboratif permet donc de fluidifier et formaliser les échanges au sein de la Supply Chain, lors d’opérations logistiques complexes. 

Comment améliorer sa visibilité ferroviaire ? 

Aujourd’hui il y a très peu ou prou de solutions TMS marché dédié au rail qui font de la visibilité transport dans le ferroviaire un atout essentiel, contrairement au routier.

Fort de son expertise ferroviaire, Everysens combine son expertise en IA et IoT pour enrichir les fonctionnalités classiques d’un TMS afin offrir le premier TMS collaboratif et temps réel du marché ferroviaire.

La visibilité transport dans le rail est faite plutôt sur le suivi d’un wagon et des messages GPS qu’il émet, ce qui peut erroné le suivi. Everysens apporte une visibilité rail en temps réel du départ du train jusqu’à son arrivée finale. Pour ce faire, nous avons donc mis en production un calcul unique de la position du convoi basé sur l’ensemble des wagons. Cette amélioration nous permet de détecter au plus tôt les alertes (retard, wagon écarté…) et d’apporter à nos clients une visibilité de bout en bout. Nos clients sont donc en mesure de prendre des actions corrective grâce à nos alertes.